Dating Sucks

I’ve decided to try dating again. I mean, I don’t want him back so what am I waiting for? Though I wouldn’t turn down an engraved invitation from the dating world acknowledging they accept me.

Dating has never been my thing. I don’t hold a lot of stock in zodiacs (it’s cool if you do but it’s just not my life) but I am the exact definition of an Aquarius. I’ll recap for you:

  • Progressive
  • Independent
  • Humanitarian
  • Runs from emotional expression
  • Temperamental
  • Uncompromising
  • Aloof
  • Frank
  • Imaginative
  • Detachment
  • Curious
  • Affectionate personality (maybe…but not always)

You see those italicized traits? Yeah. Those are my main personality flaws. This makes me hate dating and all things associated. So you would think that I would be thrilled with the “new” dating right? Wrong. Because it sucks. For those of you unaware of how “new” dating works it goes something like this:

Person 1: It would be cool if we did something at some point.

Person 2: Yeah it would.

Both die waiting for the other to make plans. It’s like we both have to pretend we are not interested in the other to avoid being labeled as “desperate” or “clingy”. Why is it so awful to show you are interested? Yeah. Even I said that. Honestly. I hate when guys are over interested in me. Part of that is my insecurity and belief that when they finally get to know me they will just be disappointed. But I still want him to be interested. Because if he isn’t who in the relationship is going to be? Because it sure as hell isn’t me. Have you met me? I refer you back to the list. Runs from emotional expression was literally written after doing a study on me.

If it doesn’t go like scenario one, it’s like this:

Person 1: God you’re so fucking sexy.

Person 2: Um. Thank you? (Seriously. How do you respond to that?)

Person 1: We should hang out soon.

Person 2: Uh. I guess that could be a thing.

Person 1: Tonight. Come over.

Person 2 now has to decide if they want to be found chained in the basement or not.

So. Death or sitting at home waiting for the other person to care more. That’s how dating is going for me so far. And I’ve already promised my family and friends that I would be more cautious since they’ve read this blog. Sigh. Do better society. Demand better from the people trying to date you. Show others you care and you are interested. I mean, after all, what’s the worst that could happen? You sit at home alone like you are already doing.

Yeah I know. I’ll take my own advice too.

Leave a Reply

