A New Decade Approaches

In exactly 11 days I will be 30. It’s kind of a big deal to me-but not for the reasons you would think. I mean, I don’t mind getting older is all I’m saying. I’ve practically been old my entire life. I was born with the personality of an 80 year old grandmother. But one of those grandmas that lived through the depression-not the fun ones.

I’m excited though, you know? My life isn’t exactly what you would call hard but I had some definite rough patches. I don’t have to tell you-you’ve read this blog. But not just that. Not just him. I almost died in my 20s. It was a really hard time not just for me but for the people who love me. I imagine the ones who don’t care for me didn’t have an opinion. I lost my dog, my grandpa, my uncle, some friends, and made reckless decisions.

My 20s had some perks. I met my best friends. I graduated with both my undergraduate and graduate degrees. I found a career I adore. All of my nieces and nephews were born. I traveled to India. I let myself become attached to a person. I watched so many baseball games. I discovered my voice. I reconciled with my body (mostly). And I fell even more in love with my Savior.

The world is a scary place right now. And I’m not sure what my 30s hold. But I do know that I’m going to continue growing as a person. I’m going to try to consistently put myself in the place of others and understand their views. I’m going to be kind. I’m going to read more about everything. I’m going to continue working hard for what I want. I’m not going to allow others to make me jaded. I might even start cleaning my house and doing laundry on a regular basis-but if you look at my list you can see my plate is already pretty full. I mean, being kind is a full-time job for me.

I’m ready for a new decade of my life. I’m ready to heal. I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

